About Us

The Minster of Health appoints the Board members and nominations are called from a variety of sources from both within and outside the podiatry profession. When nominations are received the Minister appoints the successful member for a term of generally three years. Appointees are able to be re-appointed with legislation allowing up to nine years on the Board. The Board consists of 7 members, 5 registered podiatrists and 2 lay members.

The current Board members are :

Registered Podiatrists:                       

  • Fiona Angus (Chair)                           
  • Erin Beeler (Deputy)
  • Matthew Carroll 
  • Leigh Shaw
  • Steve York

Lay Members:

  • Sarah Graydon
  • TBA

Board Members

Fiona Angus – Chair

Fiona was appointed to the Podiatrists Board mid 2011, taking on the Deputy Chair role at the end of 2012 and moving to Chair in February 2018. Prior to this she was on the Podiatry New Zealand Executive as Central Region representative. Fiona is currently working in the area of High Risk Foot employed by a DHB, working as part of a team of four Podiatrists. Fiona trained as a Podiatrist in Sydney, Australia, graduating in 1989, and has work experience including public and private practice. Since her appointment to the Board she has been appointed to the ANZPAC Board of Management and their Accreditation Committee. Other key involvements include the NZSSD Podiatry Special Interest Group and the NZ Wound Care Society. Fiona is married with three children and lives in the Hutt Valley.

Erin Beeler – Deputy Chair

Erin joined the Board in 2016, having graduated from AUT in 2006 then working in Australia and New Zealand in the private sector. She was appointed Deputy Chair in April 2020. Erin is Director of Podium Podiatry and Footwear and divides her time between running the business and hands-on clinical work. Erin is a clinical representative on the Board of the Eastern Bay of Plenty Primary Health Alliance, and is working towards her PgDipHSc (Māori Health). Her interests are in raising the profile of podiatry in New Zealand (both professionally and publicly), and making quality podiatry services accessible and affordable for more New Zealanders. 

Matt Carroll

Matthew was appointed to the Board in 2015. He was appointed Deputy Chair in 2018 and stepped down from this role in April 2020.  He has been a registered podiatrist in New Zealand since 1998 and Australia where he practiced for 11 years.  Matthew is currently Head of Postgraduate Programmes within the School of Clinical Sciences at AUT University and was Head of Podiatry at AUT University from 2009-2017.  He has served as a Director of the Australia New Zealand Podiatric Accreditation Council (ANZPAC) since 2011.

Matthew is active in research with a focus on musculoskeletal conditions of the lower limb and the Achilles tendon.  Since commencing his academic career in 2009 he has published widely in peer reviewed journals and presented national and internationally.  He is Associate Editor for BMC Musculoskeletal Disorders and Editorial Board Member for the Journal of Foot & Ankle Research.

Leigh Shaw 

Member of the Podiatrists Board since 2010, elected Chair end of 2012 until February 2018. As part of this role on the Board she is also a member of the AUT Advisory Committee where she is currently Chair. Leigh has been a registered podiatrist in New Zealand since 1984 having qualified at the Central Institute Of Technology, Upper Hutt NZ. Presently employed full time as a Specialist Podiatrist at Bay of Plenty DHB since 2000, covering Western and Eastern Bay of Plenty’s High Risk Foot patients. She is also involved in the NZSSD special interest group and has worked with the NZ Wound Care Society as a presenter and lead on the recent Diabetic foot ulceration form project.

Stephen York

Steve was appointed to the Board in 2013 and reappointed in 2016. He has been a registered podiatrist in New Zealand since 2009 and graduated from AUT.  He is currently employed as a diabetes podiatrist at the Northland DHB since 2010.  He is also a member of the Podiatrist Special Interest Group Committee (NZSSD) and is also involved with other local and regional podiatry and diabetes working groups.  Steve has an active interest in the diabetic foot and has recently co-authored a number of studies that relate to diabetic related lower extremity amputation in New Zealand.

Sarah Graydon- Lay Member 

Sarah was appointed as a lay member of the Board in 2016.  She has been a lawyer since 1998 and has a broad range of experience including as a Senior Legal Advisor for the Health & Disability Commissioner and more recently heading up the legal team at New Zealand Post.  Sarah lives on the South Coast in Wellington with her husband and two children.

Board Staff – Registrar

Annabel Whinam – Registrar

Annabel has been in the role as Registrar for the Board for a number of years, since 2003. She gained her law degree from the University of Otago and was  admitted to the bar the following year. She has also gained her qualifications in primary teaching.

She practised in a number of law firms in Dunedin and also worked in the areas of education and social work whilst raising three children. Since moving to Wellington in 2000 she worked as a legal editor before taking on her current role within health practitioner regulation.

Board Meetings for 2020

13 – 14 February
14 – 15 May
6 – 7 August
12 – 13 November